Welcome to Hatherley Infant School and Nursery

We warmly welcome you to our school website and hope it will provide you with a good introduction to our school and answer any questions you may have. We are a well-established happy and vibrant school, with a caring team who place children’s well-being and learning at the heart of its existence.

It is our responsibility to ensure that your child’s experience of early education is positive, providing a foundation for the development of the skills and attitudes needed to become successful learners and responsible members of our community.

better together home school partnership

We provide a stimulating and caring environment where children can thrive intellectually, emotionally and socially. We strive to make learning a challenging and enjoyable experience, inspiring children to achieve their potential. We want children to be excited and curious about the world around them and to be eager to learn.

We value the relationship we have with parents and carers through our ‘Better Together’ ethos and support families to ensure they are able to play an active and enjoyable role in their child’s learning.

Each child’s journey through life and learning will be different and we will do all that we can to make sure they are well prepared so that they leave us believing that anything is possible, including their dreams. We hope this will be the beginning of a long lasting relationship between you, your child and our learning community.

We look forward to meeting you and welcoming you and your child to Hatherley Infant School and Nursery, a place where children learn and grow together.

Our Story

Hatherley Infant School is situated within its original Victorian building with rather grand old railings encircling the deceptively large grounds where children have played for 120 years.

Hatherley opened in 1901 and originally had an infant department for children aged 3 to 7 years and a mixed department for children aged 7 to 13/14 years of age. The school is situated in Tredworth, once a small community outside Gloucester but now very much part of Gloucester City. The community spirit is reflected in the ethos of the school and it retains a very welcoming atmosphere. The tradition of attending Hatherley has been handed down from generation to generation, whilst welcoming an increasingly diverse community.

Hatherley Infant School and Nursery is a happy place, with a committed staff team who are always willing to consider new ideas and give of their best to further serve the children’s wide ranging educational and welfare needs. We value the role of the Governing Board and our parents/carers as partners in the education of the children. All of us are extremely proud of our popular school and of the achievements our children continue to make.

We are a member of the Gloucester Schools Partnership and work collaboratively with other Gloucester schools.
Please click the link below for the GSP website.


Our Vision

Imagine a school where children are:

Our Team

Senior Leadership Team

Mr S Millington (Executive Headteacher)

Mrs F Briggs (Operational Headteacher)

Mrs G Piper (Senior Leadership Team)


Designated Safeguarding Leads

Mrs F Briggs (DSL)

Mr S Millington (DDSL)

Mrs J Johnson (DDSL, Designated Teacher)

Mrs P Randall (DDSL)



Mrs P Randall

Mrs Y Parekh
Mrs K Hyett


Miss L Davies

Mrs P Uddin
Miss T Pritchard
Mrs L Newbury


Miss F Helps 

Mrs C Ayling


Mrs F Briggs &  Mrs C Stabbins

Mrs S Turner      Mrs J  Cooke 




Mrs G Piper

Mrs R Choudhury




Mr E Prince

Miss C Williams Miss C Vidal





SENCO & Family Support
Mrs J Johnson


School Business Manager
Miss A Nicholson

Administrator & Attendance
Mrs C Thelwell

Play Leaders

Miss H Taylor
Ms S Ireland
Mrs K Kingscott


Mrs S Wild
Ms S Ireland
Mrs M Correia Rios

Cleaner in charge
Miss H Taylor



Manager: Mrs M Armitage
Assistant: Mrs C Collins

Our Governors

Remit of the Governing Body

The Governors are responsible for 3 core functions:

  1. Setting the strategic direction
  2. Holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and
  3. Ensuring financial health, probity and value for money.

The Instrument of Government

The school’s Instrument of Government, effective from 1 January 2015, states the governing body shall consist of:

2 parent governors
1 local authority governor
1 staff governor
1 headteacher
5 co-opted governors

Total number of governors: 10

What does the Governing Body do?

Governors are responsible for a number of areas including attainment, finance, policies and procedures.  Their role involves working closely with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to ensure children get the best possible education to enable them to reach their full potential, in an environment where they feel safe, valued and where learning is fun.

Their main functions are to:

  • Help set the aims and objectives for the school
  • Help ensure the policies and procedures are relevant and achieve their objectives
  • Set targets to monitor the progress of the school to ensure it is meeting its aims and objectives
  • Be a critical friend to the school and provide a source of challenge and support

Full Governing Board meetings are held termly. The approved minutes are held in the school office and available for anyone who wishes to read them. 

Find our governor details here.

Current Membership of the Governing Body

CategoryName of GovernorStart dateTerm ends
Parent 1Fazila Patel02/02/202102/01/2025
Parent 2Shirley Graham03/11/202203/10/2025
Local AuthorityAmanda Chong11/10/202011/09/2024
StaffLauren Davies06/11/202106/10/2025
HeadteacherSimon Millington01/01/197001/01/1970
Co-opted 1Albert Gardiner01/01/197001/01/1970
Co-opted 2Laura Nutland01/01/197001/01/1970
Co-opted 3Elliot Prince02/02/202102/01/2025
Co-opted 4Vacancy
Co-opted 5Vacancy
Associate MemberFreya Briggs01/01/197001/01/1970

Governor attendance during the last 12 months

Governor 27.04.21 18.05.21 15.06.21 06.07.21 28.09.21 07.12.21 15.03.22
Sarah Bunce Term ended on 28.05.21
Amanda Chong  
Lauren Davies  
Albert Gardiner  
Ruth Kessell Term ended on 30.09.21
Simon Millington Term started on 31.05.21
Kirstie Norris Term Ended on 28.05.21
Laura Nutland  
Fazila Patel Elected on 02.02.21
Elliot Prince Co-opted on 02.02.21
Hannah Simpson Co-opted on 27.04.21 Stepped down on 03.11.21