Our Governors

Remit of the Governing Body

The Governors are responsible for 3 core functions:

  1. Setting the strategic direction
  2. Holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the school and
  3. Ensuring financial health, probity and value for money.

The Instrument of Government

The school’s Instrument of Government, effective from 1 January 2015, states the governing body shall consist of:

2 parent governors
1 local authority governor
1 staff governor
1 headteacher
5 co-opted governors

Total number of governors: 10

What does the Governing Body do?

Governors are responsible for a number of areas including attainment, finance, policies and procedures.  Their role involves working closely with the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to ensure children get the best possible education to enable them to reach their full potential, in an environment where they feel safe, valued and where learning is fun.

Their main functions are to:

  • Help set the aims and objectives for the school
  • Help ensure the policies and procedures are relevant and achieve their objectives
  • Set targets to monitor the progress of the school to ensure it is meeting its aims and objectives
  • Be a critical friend to the school and provide a source of challenge and support

Full Governing Board meetings are held termly. The approved minutes are held in the school office and available for anyone who wishes to read them. 

Find our governor details here.

Current Membership of the Governing Body

CategoryName of GovernorStart dateTerm ends
Parent 1Fazila Patel02/02/202101/02/2025
Parent 2Shirley Graham11/03/202210/03/2025
Local AuthorityAmanda Chong10/11/202009/11/2024
StaffLauren Davies11/06/202110/06/2025
HeadteacherSimon Millington31/05/2021
Co-opted 1Albert Gardiner28/09/201927/09/2023
Co-opted 2Laura Nutland23/03/202022/03/2024
Co-opted 3Elliot Prince02/02/202101/02/2025
Co-opted 4Vacancy
Co-opted 5Vacancy
Associate MemberFreya Briggs29/06/202028/06/2024

Governor attendance during the last 12 months

Governor 27.04.21 18.05.21 15.06.21 06.07.21 28.09.21 07.12.21 15.03.22
Sarah Bunce Term ended on 28.05.21
Amanda Chong  
Lauren Davies  
Albert Gardiner  
Ruth Kessell Term ended on 30.09.21
Simon Millington Term started on 31.05.21
Kirstie Norris Term Ended on 28.05.21
Laura Nutland  
Fazila Patel Elected on 02.02.21
Elliot Prince Co-opted on 02.02.21
Hannah Simpson Co-opted on 27.04.21 Stepped down on 03.11.21